Multiple awards for the Nokia Lumia 800 & Windows Phone 7 “Mango”   Leave a comment

It’s always nice to receive recognition for a job well done especially when it’s on the hardware as well as the software side of things.

Sexiest Hardware:

First of all the Nokia Lumia 800 received the “sexiest” gadget award on Techbuffalo.com’s “Hello, Gorgeous: 11 Sexiest Gadgets of 2011” awards. (Source) Just a short extract from that article:

To be honest, I was tempted to put the iPhone 4S here, but I decided against it for one simple reason — the form factor hasn’t really changed in two years. But Nokia‘s Lumia 800? Maybe it’s not the analysts’ darling, but I think it’s a fresh take that stands out in a sea of smart phone form factors that, frankly, all starts to look the same after a while. The company took those rounded edges and deep-colored polycarbonate — and put it together with Windows Phone OS, a 1.4 GHz CPU, 8MP camera, and Clearblack display. The result? A stunner of a design-forward package. While I do bemoan the lack of a front-facing camera and a few other specs, I also have to say — never has WinPho looked sexier than when it runs within this handsome handset.

WP7 Mango: Technology you want to keep using because it makes your life better:

Mary Branscombe from ZDNet.com lists Windows Phone 7 as one of the best technologies of 2011 (Source). Again a short extract:

Windows Phone has excellent OneNote and Exchange support, it is the only touch screen keyboard I can type accurately on and while there are apps I’d like to see that aren’t there – a Sonos controller being top of my list – there are plenty of useful apps and engaging games, to the point that I have more apps on my personal phone that I’ve ever had on any platform. Does it have flaws? Of course. It’s still the best mobile OS Microsoft has ever produced, and an excellent mobile OS in its own right, both of which are significant milestones. I’ve been using words like beautiful, elegant, charming and whimsical ever since I first got my hands on the phone – compared to the suspicion with which I approached it when I’d only seen presentations and specs. Windows Phone is an OS that you’re not going to appreciate without using it. And ultimately, the best technology is the technology you use and want to keep using because it makes your life better.

Great package:

Just as the cherry on top: the Nokia Lumia 800 also picked up What Mobile ‘s editor’s choice award! (Source)

All in all the Lumia 800 looks like a great package, hopefully it becomes available locally as soon as possible!

Posted January 3, 2012 by allaboutnokiasa in Lumia 800, Nokia, Windows Phone

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

